Explore, invent, connect

Books catalog

Your shopping cart is empty

A.G. Merzhanov, S.M. Frolov «Combustion, detonation, shock waves: proceedings of the Zel'dovich memorial (Vol. 2)»

Year: 1994
Author(s): A.G. Merzhanov, S.M. Frolov (Editors)
ISBN: 5-89055-002-0
Pages: 516
Publisher: ENAS

Price:  4 500 RUB

Buy  Add to cart

A.G. Merzhanov, Institute of Structural Macrokinetics, Chernogolovka, Russia, and
S.M. Frolov, N.N. Semenov Institute of Chemical Physics, Moscow, Russia

Professor Yakov Borisovich Zel'dovich was one of the most eminent scientists of the 20th century. He made outstanding contributions to the development of the modern theory of combustion and detonation, physics of explosion and shock waves, nuclear physics and physics of elementary particles, theory of gravitation and cosmology, astrophysics and X-ray astronomy. In 1994 he would turn 80. The idea of organizing the International Conference on Combustion dedicated to the 80-th brthday anniversary of Ya.B. Zel'dovich (Zel'dovich Memorial) evoked a warm response among scientists all over the world. The conference was a tribute of respect to this person, and contributed to further development of science and strengthening the international combustion community. The technical program of the Zel'dovich Memorial contained forty-eight invited plenary lectures and more than 200 poster presentations at eight Sessions: 1. Kinetics
2. Ignition and Steady-State Flame Propagation
3. Diffusion and Heterogeneous Combustion
4. Turbulent Combustion
5. Unsteady Combustion
6. Detonation
7. Combustion and Detonation Analogies
8. Intensive Shock Waves and Extreeme States of the Matter

The two volumes contain plenary lectures (Volume I) and selected poster presentations (Volume II) presented at the Zel'dovich Memorial. The diversity and scope of the contributions, written by authors at the forefront of research on combustion, detonations and shocks, reflect the wide-rang fields in which Ya. B. Ze'ldovich has had significant influence.

Back to the section

All rights reserved. (C) Torus Press Ltd., 2007-2024